Iceage_Photo1

 

Excitement has been rapidly building leading into the release of Plowing Into The Field Of Love, the bold and forceful third album by Copenhagen’s Iceage. After sharing four distinct songs (three of which were named “Best New Track” by Pitchfork, all of which were lauded by The FADER and many other respected outlets) off a record stacked with standouts, the band is offering a stream of the entire album for anyone to embed. This is an album about seeing, learning, and rejecting things, in a cycle that repeats and builds. The reference points are wildly varied, but the sound is uniquely and darkly Iceage. It is the anthemic sound of a band in motion, unafraid of change, filled with curiosity, musicality and ambition. Throughout, the four members channel the rage and emotion of their tempestuous early releases into finely honed musicianship — piano, mandolin, viola and organ are featured atop Johan Suurballe-Wieth’s razor-sharp guitars, and the lolloping, synchronized rhythm section of Jacob Tvilling Pless and Dan Kjær Nielsen. The record has a clear, uncompressed sound, and Elias Bender Rønnenfelt’s desperate vocals are out front, nakedly accountable for the words as he sings of what it is like to be out in the world, dizzy with its offerings, perched on a plateau of false confidence, bliss, fantasy and delirious self-denial.

 

 

Check Iceage’s list of North America tour dates, including a stop in Austin, TX for Fun Fun Fun Fest!

Fri. Oct. 10 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church w/ Helm

Sat. Oct. 11 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery w/ Helm

Sun. Oct. 12 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom w/ Helm

Wed. Oct. 15 – Easthampton, MA @ The Flywheel Arts Collective w/ Helm

Thu. Oct. 16 – Boston, Ma @ The Great Scott w/ Helm and Rakta

Fri. Oct. 17 – Montreal, QC @ La Vitrola w/ Merchandise, Lower, Father Murphy

Sat. Oct. 18 – Ottawa, ON @ Gabba Hey w/ Father Murphy

Sun. Oct. 19 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe w/ Father Murphy

Tue. Oct. 21 – Detroit, MI @ PJ’s Lager House w/ Helm, Father Murphy

Wed. Oct. 22 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Helm, Father Murphy

Thu. Oct. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock w/ Helm

Fri. Oct. 24 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown w/ Helm

Sat. Oct. 25 – Lawrence, KS @ Jackpot Music Hall w/ Helm

Sun. Oct. 26 – Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive w/ Helm

Mon. Oct. 27 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court w/ Helm

Wed. Oct. 29 – Reno, NV @ Holland Project w/ Helm

Fri. Oct. 31 – San Francisco, CA @ Elbo Room w/ Helm

Sat. Nov. 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo w/ Helm + Rakta

Sun. Nov. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo w/ Helm

Mon. Nov. 3 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah w/ Helm

Tue. Nov. 4 – Phoenix, AZ @ 51 West w/ Helm

Wed. Nov. 5 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister w/ Helm

Sat. Nov. 8 – Austin, TX @ Fun Fun Fun Fest